Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Seven towns adopt local fertilizer rules under DCPC

The towns of Barnstable, Brewster, Chatham, Eastham, Mashpee and Provincetown adopted local nitrogen-oriented regulations this fall. The towns of Falmouth and Orleans had grandfathered nitrogen bylaws. Orleans added phosphorus to its nitrogen bylaw through the DCPC. While there were variations in each local rule, all were deemed consistent with the DCPC by the full Commission.

Last year, the Commission proposed the Cape-wide DCPC in response to state legislation that would remove the ability of individual communities to regulate fertilizers. Through the DCPC, Cape communities have an opportunity to adopt local bylaws consistent with the implementing regulations. Participation was voluntary.



Search Circle Icon Search Icon Document Icon Video Icon PDF Icon CSV/XLS Icon