

BARNSTABLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

P.O. BOX 427 BARNSTABLE, MASSACHUSETTS 02630 (508) 375-6648 FAX (508) 362-4136 COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
WILLIAM DOHERTY
Harwich

MARY PAT FLYNN Falmouth

SHEILA R. LYONS Wellfleet

HOME RULED CHARTERED IN 1989

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT REASONABLE ACCOMODATION POLICY

Policy Declaration

We, the Commissioners of Barnstable County, hereby declare that Barnstable County Regional Government does not discriminate based upon disability and provides reasonable accommodations for qualified individuals with disabilities.

This policy will assure, and promote non-discrimination of people with disabilities and provide reasonable accommodations and modifications, where necessary and required, in all aspects of Barnstable County's operation affecting employees, applicants for employment, and the public.

Therefore, in support of the basic principles inherent in the following state and federal regulations:

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended;

Rehabilitation Act of 1973; §104, 29 U.S.C. § 794 (2006);

Massachusetts General Law c 93 section 103;

We commit ourselves and our employees to take positive action, within the context of existing law, to ensure equitable participation of all individuals with disabilities and to provide reasonable accommodations in our workforce, programs, and services.

We will implement procedures for handling requests for reasonable accommodations, provide staff resources and training, investigate complaints and grievances and, where necessary, initiate changes in employment practices, patterns or programs to provide positive benefits to people with disabilities in Barnstable County by more fully utilizing and developing the potential of all current employees and by expanding opportunities to a greater number of potential employees.

We have developed this ADA and Reasonable Accommodation Policy to help us achieve our goal of equal employment opportunity for all. We are committed to implementing this plan in a fair and effective manner.

Adopted on December 8th, 2010 by the BARNSTABLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS:

Mary Pat Flynn

Chair

William Doherty

Vice-Chair

Sheila R. Lyons

Commissioner